Affiliated Faculty

Matt Baker, Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
mbaker@umbc.edu
Watershed ecology, riparian ecosystems, analysis of ecological thresholds in response to environmental change, quantitative approaches in ecosystem/landscape ecology, watershed hydrology and biogeochemistry

Dawn Biehler, Associate Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
dbiehler@umbc.edu
Historical geography of environmental health in US cities, environmental justice, social geography, housing, human-animal interactions

Lee Blaney, Associate Professor, Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Engineering
blaney@umbc.edu
Fate and transport of emerging contaminants in natural and engineered systems

Alan Berkowitz, Scientist, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
berkowitza@ecostudies.org

Dan Bailey, Director, Imaging Research Center and Professor of Visual Arts
bailey@umbc.edu
Real-time interactive visualizations

Lynn Cazabon, Professor of Art, Department of Visual Arts
cazabon@umbc.edu
Photography; “Uncultivated” project

Erle Ellis, Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
ece@umbc.edu
Biogeochemistry, landscape ecology, managed ecosystems

Aryya Gangopadhyay, Professor, Information Systems
gangopad@umbc.edu

Upal Ghosh, Professor, Chemical, Biochemical amd Environmental Engineering
ughosh@umbc.edu
Physicochemical and biological processes related to organic chemicals in the environment, water quality, contaminated sediments remediation, site risk assessment

Peter Groffman, Senior Scientist, Cary Institute for Ecosystem Studies
groffmanp@ecostudies.org
Terrestrial microbial ecology, dynamics of microbial processes at the landscape level, nutrient cycling and transformation of environmental pollutants in wetlands, forests, and agroecosystems and groundwater

Margaret Holland, Associate Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems.

Christopher Hennigan, Associate Professor, Chemical, Biochemical amd Environmental Engineering
hennigan@umbc.edu
Sources, transformation, and fate of pollutants in the atmosphere

Vandana Janeja, Professor and Chair, Information Systems
vjaneja@umbc.edu
Spatial data mining, anomaly detection, disease informatics, data mining for e-government and homeland security applications

William LaCourse, Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Dean, College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences

David Lansing, Associate Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
dlansing@umbc.edu
Human/environment interactions; political economy of climate change; environmental policy; agrarian change; social theory

Jeff W. Leips, Professor, Biological Science
leips@umbc.edu
Molecular/organismal ecology, molecular biol/genetics, ecology/environmental biology

Andrew J. Miller, Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
miller@umbc.edu
Fluvial geomorphology, flood hydrology, urban hydrology

Nagaraj Neerchal, Professor, Statistics and Mathematics
nagaraj@math.umbc.edu
Time series analysis, overdispersion models, environmental statistics, data analysis

Kevin Omland, Professor, Biological Science
omland@umbc.edu
Evolution, molecular systematics, avian behavior/ecology

Steward Pickett, Distinguished Senior Scientist, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies and Adjunct Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
picketts@ecostudies.org
The role of spatial heterogeneity in community and landscape structure and dynamics; urban ecosystems, function of landscape boundaries, plant community succession

Brian E. Reed, Professor, Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Engineering
reedb@umbc.edu
Sorption of organics/inorganics, surface chemistry, separation processes, water and wastewater treatment, soil and site remediation, pollution prevention/waste minimization, stormwater management

Stuart S. Schwartz, Senior Scientist, CUERE
ss@umbc.edu
Water resource systems analysis; urban hydrology; water policy

John Rennie Short, Professor, Public Policy
jrs@umbc.edu
Globalization, urban issues, environmental concerns and history of cartography

Chris Swan, Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
cmswan@umbc.edu
Stream community and ecosystem ecology; relating biodiversity of riparian trees to stream food webs; mosquito management in stormwater detention ponds; impact of invasive Hemlock Woolly Adelgid infestation on stream ecosystems.

Claire Welty, Professor, Chemical, Biochemicalm and Environmental Engineering and Director, Center for Urban Environmental Research and Education
weltyc@umbc.edu
Mathematical modeling of groundwater flow and transport in aquifers; design and analysis of field-scale hydraulic and tracer tests; water resource systems management and analysis; watershed hydrology; impacts of urbanization on water resources; pathogen transport in the environment